Accueil  /  Fabio Colucci, Director of the Bachelor's Interior Design Programme

Fabio Colucci, Director of the Bachelor's Interior Design Programme


Fabio Colucci, between heaven and earth...

MEET THE DIRECTOR OF THE BACHELOR'S IN INTERIOR DESIGN PROGRAM.

Space has always fascinated Fabio Colucci -the infinity of the universe just above our heads and the vertigo it induces. As a child he wanted to be an astronaut and today harbors a twinge of regret for not becoming one, until he brings up his other passion: cartoons – the pinnacle of the world of imagination.

As a teenager, Fabio Colucci, who was already good at drawing, set his sights on architecture. He wants to design the world around us, positioned under the stars. Once he got his diploma he set out to find the best path. The same year he took both the Ecal and HEAD professional exams and passed both. “I had the luxury of being able to decide,” says the son of the famed designer Claudio Colucci. The apple didn't fall far from the tree.

He chose HEAD in Geneva, a city he loves and where he fully enjoys the quality of life, and he chose interior design, allying technicality and creativity. “I loved my years in school, studying and working crazy hours. We were all a family.” The memories come flooding back – a presentation at the Milan Furniture Fair, a workshop with the iconic Matali Crasset, moments of exchange and sharing, sleepless nights, the Teo Jakob prize with special mention…

Search for meaning

With his Bachelor's in hand, Fabio went straight to the Paris office of Colucci Design for several months, working at every level in the company. The Fukushima disaster in 2011 gave him a reason to leave for Japan, then back to Geneva for an internship with Strata Architecture. His father then asked him to take over the Geneva office, where he accepted to give “a helping hand.”

Once on the job, the only one in the office, he discovered the true life of a professional designer, not what's in the schoolbooks. The late nights, disrespect and acrimony. The projects he must defend, clients to convince and the office to run. "In the beginning I was the designer, artist, project manager, accountant..." He created the Hermès shop windows throughout Switzerland, a limited edition Caran d'Ache pen and even designed the architectural identity of TPG Architecture in collaboration with Strata.

He loves all aspects of interior design business even if he has a preference for the early creative research phases. His passion drives him to teaching. A discovery, an opportunity. "I teach real life. Those things that nobody taught me," he says without hiding his joy.

What does he expect of his students? That they always go above and beyond what's expected of them, without forgetting to tell the story behind the project. The search for meaning is primordial.


 

 


Partagez

Accueil  /  Fabio Colucci, Directeur Bachelor Interior Design

Fabio Colucci, Directeur Bachelor Interior Design


Fabio Colucci, entre ciel et terre

À la rencontre du directeur du Bachelor interior design.

L’espace l’a toujours fasciné. Celui infiniment grand. Au-dessus de nos têtes. L’univers et le vertige qu’il procure. Plus jeune, il voulait être astronaute. Il reconnait d’ailleurs un « petit regret » de ne pas l’être devenu, avant de confesser une autre passion : celle des dessins animés. Le monde de l’imaginaire par excellence.

Adolescent, Fabio Colucci, bon dessinateur, jette son dévolu sur l’architecture. L’idée est de pouvoir concevoir le monde qui nous entoure, bien calé sous les étoiles. Maturité fédérale en poche, il cherche un temps la meilleure voie. Puis, la même année, il tente le concours d’entrée de l’Ecal et celui de la HEAD. Il réussit les deux. « J’ai eu le luxe de pouvoir choisir… », souligne celui qui est aussi le fils du célèbre designer Claudio Colucci. Bon sang ne saurait mentir.

De fait, ce sera la HEAD à Genève. Une ville qu’il aime et dont il apprécie la qualité de vie. Une matière, l’architecture d’intérieur, qui allie technicité et créativité. « J’ai adoré mes années d’études, à bosser comme un fou. Tout le monde était tellement soudé… » Les souvenirs affluent : la présentation d’un projet au Salon du meuble de Milan, un workshop avec l’icône du design Matali Crasset, les moments d’échange et de partage, les nuits blanches, le prix Teo Jakob avec mention spéciale…

Quête de sens

Bachelor en poche, Fabio met le cap sur le bureau parisien de Colucci Design pour plusieurs mois de stage, les deux mains dans le moteur. La catastrophe de Fukushima, en 2011, aura raison de son projet de départ pour le Japon. Retour à Genève pour un stage auprès de Strata Architecture. Et puis, Colucci père lui demande de prendre la barre de son bureau genevois. Il accepte de donner « un coup de main ».

Sur le tas, seul à bord, il découvre la vraie vie professionnelle. Celle qui n’est pas décrite dans les livres d’école. La dure. La rude. Là où les projets sont à défendre, les clients à convaincre et la boutique à faire tourner. « Au départ, j’étais à la fois designer, dessinateur, chef de projet, comptable… » Il signe la décoration des vitrines Hermès dans toute la Suisse, la ligne d’un stylo en édition limitée pour Caran d’Ache ou encore le design de l’identité architecturale des TPG en collaboration avec Strata Architecture.

Il aime tous les aspects de son métier même s’il confie une préférence pour les premières phases de recherche créative. Sa passion l’amène à l’enseignement. Une découverte, une opportunité. « J’enseigne les choses de la vie réelle. Celles que personne ne m’a apprises », explique-t-il sans bouder son plaisir.

Ce qu’il attend de ses élèves ? Qu’ils aillent toujours au-delà du cahier des charges, sans oublier de raconter l’histoire derrière le projet. La quête de sens est primordiale.


 

 


Partagez