Accueil  /  Antoine Savolainen

Antoine Savolainen


Antoine Savolainen, the hyperactive creative types

Meet the director of the new Bachelor's in Communication & Interactive program

With an imposing build, intimidating stature and a glare that is both confident and caring, Antoine Savolainen willingly admits to his personality. At 47 the founder and director of Rhino Universal based in Geneva and Paris is back at school. It's a way to regenerate, "to regain the freshness of when you're starting out" by getting back to basics. "It's like walking in nature ..." says the brilliant yet pragmatic director of the new Bachelor's programs in Interactive Design and Communication Design.

This creative mind, which has won numerous international awards, is no stranger to standing before a classroom. In 1998 he established the first multimedia designer program recognized in French-speaking Switzerland at the School of Media and Art in Fribourg (Emaf), an institution which he co-founded and where he taught for four years while also filling the role of vice director.

He leads from experience using the development of his own communications agency as a practical example. Once he has reached his limit, the need to recharge takes over. He then looks to Nepal, Africa and many countries in Europe for a sabbatical year.

Emotional transmitter

The idea of including "personal time" in his students' schedules comes from this experience. "If you're running on empty, you're not creative. You have to learn to save some time for yourself," he says. The other crucial aspect he imparts to his students is the relationship with the subject matter. Before working on computer skills, they must learn to hold a pencil, to paint, to master the vanishing point and work on space. "The creative mind is an emotional transmitter. It must know how to interact with matter, how to touch and how to feel," explains the man who also has a long and distinguished career in illustration. "Using a screen as the only creative output point kills emotion. Talking to your children on Skype is good, but it will never replace the emotions of seeing, touching and smelling them. Why should it be different with creativity?"

Antoine Savolainen considers this back to basics approach as essential to better anticipate the future. The future is already digital and will be even more so tomorrow. Creative professions are evolving. They are crossing over. Education must follow so that the 3.0 artistic directors have a global vision of communications and marketing.

What does he look for in his students? They must be open-minded and free-spirited with creative sensitivity and the ability to question art, design and communications... not to mention the ability to develop a personal visual culture and teach themselves to always see better than others.


 

 


Partagez

Accueil  /  Antoine Savolainen, Directeur Bachelor Communication et Interactive Design

Antoine Savolainen, Directeur Bachelor Communication et Interactive Design


Antoine Savolainen, le créatif hyperactif

À la rencontre du directeur du Bachelor Communication & Interactive Design

Carrure imposante, un brin intimidante, le regard assuré et bienveillant, Antoine Savolainen reconnait volontiers une nature entière. À 47 ans, le fondateur et directeur de l’agence Rhino Universal, basée à Genève et Paris, reprend le chemin de l’école. Une manière de se régénérer, « de retrouver la fraicheur des débuts » en revenant aux fondamentaux. « C’est comme marcher dans la nature… », illustre, pragmatique, le directeur des nouveaux Bachelors Interactive Design et Communication Design.

L’enseignement, ce créatif, récompensé par de nombreux prix internationaux, connait bien. En 1998, il met en place la première formation reconnue en Suisse romande de concepteur multimédia au sein de l’École de multimédia et d’art de Fribourg (Emaf). Un établissement dont il est le cofondateur et où il enseignera pendant quatre années, tout en assurant la direction adjointe.

Il mène de front cette expérience professionnelle avec le développement de sa propre agence de communication. Jusqu’au trop-plein. Le besoin de se ressourcer prend le dessus. Ce sera le Népal, l’Afrique et de nombreux pays d’Europe pour une année sabbatique.

Transmetteur d'émotions 

L’idée d’inscrire un « temps personnel » dans le planning de ses étudiants vient certainement de là. « Si tu es vide, tu n’es plus créatif. Il faut savoir garder des moments pour soi », souligne-t-il. Autre incontournable à transmettre à ses élèves : le rapport à la matière. Avant de dompter l’outil informatique, il leur faudra apprendre à tenir un crayon, à peindre, à maîtriser le point de fuite et à travailler les volumes. « Le créatif est un transmetteur d’émotions. Il doit savoir interagir avec la matière, avoir l’expérience du toucher et du ressenti », expose celui qui mène, en parallèle, une carrière reconnue d’illustrateur. « L’écran comme seul vecteur de création est un tueur d’émotion. Etre sur Skype pour parler à ses enfants, c’est bien. Mais cela ne remplacera jamais le fait de les voir, toucher, sentir. Pourquoi cela devrait-il être différent avec la création ? ».

Ce retour aux fondamentaux, Antoine Savolainen le juge indispensable pour mieux anticiper l’avenir. L’avenir justement. Il est déjà digital et le sera davantage encore demain. Les métiers créatifs évoluent. Ils se « transversalisent ». L’enseignement doit suivre afin que les directeurs artistiques 3.0 disposent d’une vision globale de la communication et du marketing.

Ce qu’il recherche chez ses étudiants ? Une ouverture d’esprit, une sensibilité créative et un questionnement à l’égard de l’art, du design et de la communication… Sans oublier la capacité de développer une culture visuelle personnelle et d’éduquer son esprit à toujours voir mieux que les autres.


 


Partagez